All in a Day’s Work

Welp, I won’t be chronicling this day as extensively as the last one. Just a few highlights.

I got a phone today. YAY! I still don’t know how to use it; you know I’m terrible with technology. Also, I don’t have anyone to try out texting or calling on. Don’t ask me to call you guys; money is charged to the person making the call in Spain. And I would much rather talk to you guys here, endlessly.

I finally got to taste my horchata¬†today. It didn’t taste like I expected it, and I’ve never tasted anything like it. I’m not sure whether I like it or not. For those who don’t know, horchata is a sort of drink made with almonds and sugar. It’s got a kind of sweet, refreshing taste, but it also has this taste to it that I recognize but can’t recall. It might simply be the taste of almonds.

We were in the oldest restaurant in the world. It’s called El Botin, and one of the specialties is cochinillo, or roasted, innocent, helpless piglet. The skin is deliciously crunchy and delicious and lovely, while the meat is the flavor and texture of incredibly tender babyback ribs. Yum.

We admired a street artist along the way back home. He had a whole set of crystal glasses built up in front of him, and was playing famous songs such as “Con te Partiro”. It was pretty awesome.

ALSO! While walking back, this guy on his bike jumped up the wall next to us and rode sideways for the blink of an eye. From the tracks on the wall, it wasn’t the first time. It was really cool.

Other than that… tomorrow it’s off to see whether we can find me a place to do some Tae Kwon Do.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

