2 Weeks 2 Go!

WHY HELLO THERE DEAR VISITOR!

Make yourself comfortable, stay awhile. I have peanut butter and muffins to offer you.

The picnic with the Openmind coordinator was sort of awkward, but it was nice. I ate all the cookies except for three, which were, of course, for the other girls. When I took the metro to the meeting place I still had some free time, and I wandered around thinking about thrift shops and looking for any sort of establishment that was actually open… Sundays are kind of slow.

A scruffy looking man came up to me with a note. Scribbled in blue pen were the words “money for food,” and he held out his hand. I had my case of cookies, and I was more than willing to offer one to him, but when I showed him one he growled angrily and left. I’m sure the cookie would have satisfied him at least for a while; peanut butter, dark chocolate, almonds, banana, oats and the usual flour-sugar-egg mixture would have given him enough energy to walk for a long time…

Anyway, the bread was crunchy and the meat was meaty and we managed to keep the conversation going well enough.

ON MONDAY. The day after the picnic. There was fire in the classroom. As in, that flamey stuff that we use to cook food and scare predators and burn schools down with. The school didn’t actually end up a smoking pile of ashes, but here’s what went down.

We’ve had a problem since last week with moths. Every time we open the windows for fresh air, a few of them flutter into the room, probably horribly confused and terrified. The girls squee and either try to kill them or move them outside, with very low levels of success. This makes the boys all hyped up, wanting to get in on this non-educational action. One of them had actually brought in insect killer (a huge aerosol can of it) for this purpose. This being a mental institution in disguise, one of them also had a lighter. I think you get where this is going here.

Let’s just say that we had a flame thrower in the classroom for a while.

And did we get in trouble? Of course not. The teacher was not even in the room.

ON WEDNESDAY. After school Spanish classes were canceled, and so I made spontaneous plans with a classmate to go shopping for clothes. I can now feasibly survive for a week without having to wear T-Shirts. I have come so far.

ON THURSDAY. I pissed off my Kickboxing teacher. Since this is my blog, I’m going to be honest and tell you what happened. He was demonstrating a move on me where he ended up with his arm over my neck, pushing me down so he could knee me in the stomach. While he was saying something along the lines of “And now there’s not much you can do,” I decided that it would be both funny and possibly helpful in a fight to punch him in the gut. It didn’t hurt him in the least, seeing as how we all had gloves on and I wasn’t at a great punching angle. But after that he let go and explained to me, very seriously, that if I wanted to disrespect him I could get out and leave. If I didn’t want to take learning seriously, I could go, and if I really wanted to spar, we could do that too. Both options were terrifying, so I kind of stayed mute and probably looked like an idiot staring at him with huge eyes. I apologized and continued to do pattern-exercises with the only other student there, a 12-year old girl who is probably better at kickboxing than I am. After a while of awkward silence, the teacher had us randomly soft-punch each other while the other defended. We had never done this before and I was scared. I was not very good at all at dodging and defending punches, and it made me very frustrated. My partner did a bit better.

After the lesson I made sure to again apologize for my behavior, and promise not to do it again. In the changing rooms, it was very quiet. I commented on my failure to block, trying to start a conversation, but the other girl muttered something that I had to ask her to repeat several times before I understood that she was telling me that I had pissed off the teacher. I thought this was a bit obvious but could understand why she was put out by it; it’s super uncomfortable watching people get lectured.

Meh and then at home I was all frazzled by it but I survived. And I’m going back on Tuesday, because I paid for the class and I only have four more classes and even if there’s awkwardness I can stick it out.

I also made muffins some time this week. They turned out pretty salty, even though I followed the recipe and used less salt than they asked for. But whatever, the girls at school still ate them, so it’s all cool.

This weekend was really nice! I visited a friend on Friday, watched Laura dance at her recital-thing, and discovered a whole new side to Mirasierra when I walked to the church to hear the Grandmother sing in the choir. And today I spent almost all day outside, lounging next to the pool, reading, studying, procrastinating, and playing with a random 4-year old who happened to be there.

And on Saturday morning I ate home-made morcilla. One of my friends in class makes them when she visits her village; please keep in mind that this sausage is made with BLOOD. Anyway, I probably microwaved it a bit too long, as it turned out a bit hard, but it was DELICIOUS.

Hahhh. *huge sigh of happiness* This has been a wonderful weekend.

For the first time this year, I’m uploading pictures! Check it out! I just haven’t figured out how to make them all organized and crap.

The sunset when I left the church choir recital. Red leaves made it even more special.

The sunset when I left the church choir recital. Red leaves made it even more special.

My goodness. This park is huge and wonderful and green! Once you get past the tourist-frequented restaurant area it's pretty peaceful, too.

My goodness. This park is huge and wonderful and green! Once you get past the tourist-frequented restaurant area it’s pretty peaceful, too.

Another marvel of city life.

Another marvel of city life.

I am so proud of you, strange man. Just so proud.

I am so proud of you, strange man. Just so proud.

Sketch of a gift-drawing.

Sketch of a gift-drawing.

Didn't get any good shots of Laura, who's in a younger group, so here's some other dancers.

Didn’t get any good shots of Laura, who’s in a younger group, so here’s some other dancers.

An art project I dragonified. We had to include our dream school, our names, our present, future, and motto. Can you find them all?

An art project I dragonified. We had to include our dream school, our names, our present, future, and motto. Can you find them all?

Don't go thinking this is normal. A one-day occasion that was made difficult by 90 degree Fahrenheit weather.

Don’t go thinking this is normal. A one-day occasion that was made difficult by 90 degree Fahrenheit weather.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

